Testimonials



All of our testimonials are officially verified but unedited ( i.e., owner can not edit them in our favor) on  Homeaway.com.  To read many more 5-star reviews, please visit the “guest book” on our Homeaway site. Our property number is 105554.

Apollona (Amherst, MA)

October 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at "Humphrey House" for two weeks during the foliage season early in October of this year. The house was all we hoped it would be and the surroundings are spectacular. Renovations to the old farm have been done tastefully and the period furniture adds a great deal of charm. There are several easy chairs and a couch, all with good reading lights, as well as clean and comfortable beds, and a well equipped kitchen. The library is versatile and interesting, so much so that our own books were neglected. After staying in many vacation rentals I add that Humphrey House is the first with good art on the walls. Excellent opportunities for hiking and appealing villages are within short driving distance. We also very much enjoyed taking after dinner strolls on the property: rolling meadows with old apple trees, flanked by dense forest. There are several good restaurants nearby. We made use of organic produce, etc. available in Londonderry, which is within walking distance from the farm. The owners are more than gracious. We hope to return...

Paula

Joe (New Jersey)

June 29, 2010

Charming doesn't begin to describe this gem of a property. Set amidst an enormous rolling mountainside meadow with views of the surrounding mountains off in the distance this house rewards those who enjoy privacy, comfortably large rooms and oodles of nooks and crannies. Some of the nooks and crannies have nooks and crannies - a Bachelardian delight!

The grounds are planted beautifully and well maintained. On days when the weather cooperated we were able to lounge around outside without awareness of civilization. There is a road that abuts one side of the property closely but due to the layout of the house and the position of the main garden it is easily forgotten.

The house is very large. Everything was very clean and tidy when we arrived. A few outlet protectors were all that were needed to make the main floor of the house child proof. Our toddler and four-year-old were able to roam around without us worrying about them getting into trouble. A broken dishwasher was quickly and discretely repaired for us.

We enjoyed the proximity to both Hapgood Pond as well as Lowell Lake State Park for hiking and picnics but do not forget the bug spray. It is convenient to Manchester to go shopping - try the Northshire Bookstore for a nice large independent. Also, there was a conveniently located organic café/grocer about a mile away.

For those uninhibited by two-hour drives I highly recommend the Shelburne Museum near Burlington and the VINS Nature Center in Quechee. The Shelburne’s collection includes a train station, an entire steamboat, incredible taxidermy, impressionist paintings and more spread out over 30+ buildings. See charming Woodstock or Quechee Gorge when you visit VINS.

Compared to our Vermont rental last year and considering the price and our experience, this rental is in my opinion a very good value for the money.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Joyce (Hopkinton, MA)

July 19, 2010

My family and I had a great week at this house. Beautiful gardens, gorgeous view, and central location convenient to lots of Vermont attractions, including Bromley adventure park, Vermont Country Store, Manchester, etc. Definitely check out the local swimming hole in the nearby river - we had lots of fun there.

One thing I had not seen mentioned in previous reviews - I'm guessing the house is on well water. The water out of the taps is the way water should be - clear, cold and without any taste at all - you can't get bottled water that good.

And despite the antique nature of the house, the plumbing was great - good water pressure in the shower and nice hot water.

Thumbs up on this property!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Monica (Maryland)

September 21, 2010

Our stay at the Humphrey house was wonderful. It is a comfortable and well maintained house with amazing views of mountains and countryside. The location is excellent. My husband and I enjoyed exploring the area and especially liked Hildene and Manchester. We took a day trip to Stockbridge, Massachusetts, (about a two hour drive to get there) to the Norman Rockwell Museum and found it a day well spent. We also enjoyed some of the nearby villages—Weston, Grafton, Chester, Newfane. A fun experience was a ride on the Green Mountain Flyer, a train that makes a round trip from Bellows Falls to Chester—lots of beautiful scenery. We were very happy at the Humphrey house and hope to make a return visit next year.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

G. and L. (Danbury, CT)

October 11, 2010

My friend and I have been to Vermont for our Girl's Getaway Weekend many times. However, we were in for a real treat staying at the Humphrey's Farm! If you want an authentic Vermont experience, this is it. (We were humming the Newhart theme song all weekend!)

The house is cozy and very comfortable and located near many attractions. The view is amazing and one special memory is sitting outside all bundled up drinking our tea and just admiring the view. The night sky was just incredible also.
The house and furnishings were very comfortable and very clean. You could appreciate the affection that this family has for this home. We can't wait to rent it again.

G. and L. Danbury, Ct.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

LL/ED (Glastonbury, CT)

October 21, 2010

My husband and I and another couple rented this home the for about 5 days in the beginning of October. I hadn't been to Vermont in ages and had somewhat forgotten how spectacular it is. The house was clean, oh so comfortable and homey and in the perfect location. The setting on 60 acres unbelievable--one morning while we were all hanging around in the kitchen getting coffee, we spotted 6 wild turkeys right in front of the house. I think Kathryn, one of the original owners of the house, planned that :>}! Except for having to deal with Hurricane Nicole who arrived with us on the first day, it was the perfect stay.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Matt (Cherry Hill, NJ)

November 28, 2010

I went to this Londonderry farmhouse in August for a week, and it was phenomenal. I went with a group of my friends (we are in our mid-20's but not the typical partying type) and at no point were we bored whatsoever. The views are amazing, and the house is very intricate. There are many rooms to explore and the lawn (which appeared to be freshly cut for us right before we got there) provided a great spot to relax and look down the mountain and up at the stars.

The kitchen and dining room were perfect even for up to 8 people, and it was easy to make big meals on days we felt like staying in.

The house made a great launching point for several activities in the area. Just driving in the area alone was enough of a treat. Only about a half an hour away is Manchester, where I would highly recommend going to breakfast at a place called "Up For Breakfast." (we went there twice!) We were only an hour and a half from Lake George, NY and two hours from Montpelier, and the Ben & Jerry's factory of course! Some of our group went horseback riding and had a good experience (on Rt. 11 heading west out of Londonderry, there is a sign on the side of the road for horseback riding).

I cannot emphasize enough how relaxing the house is, and turning off cell phones is essential, because otherwise you will get service at the house.

Kathy was very helpful leading up to and throughout our stay!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Heidi Anne (Liverpool, NY)

November 26, 2006

My family and I spent a long weekend at the Humphrey house at the beginning of November. This home exceeded our expectations in every way. I would not call this house a "rental" it was a Home!

There were so many rooms and such beautiful fine points to look at in each room. We spent a great deal of our time in front of a roaring fire in the large comfortable living room. The size of the home was perfect for our family. Our nephew had a wonderful time exploring all the rooms, opening and closing the numerous doors. The rooms were snug and comfy especially the bedrooms and the TV room.

My family and I were delighted with the cleanliness of the home. The kitchen was perfect for cooking all our meals, it had every kind of appliance we needed, and there was even an outdoor gas grill.

The grounds were beautiful with the mountain range in the background, they were perfect for flying a kite and taking long walks.

It was a peaceful, relaxing weekend get-away that was made even more pleasant by the kindness and generosity of the owners.

Steve B.

June 28, 2011

Just what we were looking for to escape the Atlanta heat and relax, although...turned out to be just a great location for exploring all the quaint Green Mts towns, villages and hiking that we didn't sit around much. Only a mile from a number of restaurants, cafes, grocery store, etc., but away from it all with gorgeous views of Green Mts from the backyard garden. May very well be back with all the kids and grandkids, as there would be plenty of room.

Kathryn was just the right amount of attentiveness. The house is obviously used by the owners, as it is well maintained and has absolutely everything you need for an extended stay.

We loved it!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

© Copyright The Humphreys Vermont Farmhouse, a rental property - Designed by Pexeto